Déclaration de position commune entre l’AMWA, l’EMWA et l’ISMPP sur les publications prédatrices
Publiée en juillet 2019

Le texte original a été publié en anglais. La traduction française à été réalisée par Chahira Katamesh et le contrôle de qualité a été effectué par Yvonne Westermaier.

L’Association Américaine des Rédacteurs Médicaux (AMWA), l’Association Européenne des Rédacteurs Médicaux (EMWA) et la Société Internationale pour les Professionnels de la Publication Médicale (ISMPP) sont conscients des défis pour la publication scientifique imposés par les revues prédatrices et leurs éditeurs, qui utilisent des pratiques sabotant la qualité, l'intégrité et la fiabilité de la recherche scientifique publiée. Cette déclaration de position commune complète plusieurs autres lignes directrices permettant de définir les caractéristiques d'une revue prédatrice.1-5.

Les revues prédatrices représentent une menace sérieuse tant pour les chercheurs qui publient les résultats de leurs travaux que pour la littérature médicale évaluée par les pairs. Contrairement aux revues légitimes en libre accès (Open-Access Journals)6 les revues prédatrices contournent le système d’évaluation des publications par les pairs dans le seul but du gain financier, sans se préoccuper manifestement du comportement éthique7

Des organisations telles que l'Association Mondiale des Rédacteurs Médicaux (WAME), le Comité d’Éthique des Publications (COPE), le Comité International des Éditeurs de Revues Médicaux (ICMJE) et le Conseil des Éditeurs Scientifiques (CSE) soutiennent les bonnes pratiques de publication qui sont maintenant largement reconnues.6,8-10Les revues prédatrices n'adhèrent pas à ces pratiques, mais exploitent plutôt le modèle de publication « Gold Open Access » (pour lequel les auteurs paient des frais de publication).11Pour générer des revenus, ces revues déforment intentionnellement les pratiques de l'examen éditorial ainsi que l’évaluation par les pairs, les méthodes de fonctionnement des revues, le processus de facturation des articles, la diffusion, l'indexation et l'archivage 1

Si l'édition prédatrice continue à proliférer, la littérature scientifique subira un grand préjudice. Des recherches légitimes, menées avec les meilleures intentions, pourraient être perdues si elles ne sont pas enregistrées, citées ou rendues accessibles à long terme, et le système de documentation scientifique risque d'être corrompu1 Mais des dangers existent aussi pour les auteurs, ainsi leur réputation peut être ternie à la suite de la publication de leurs travaux dans des revues prédatrices ou s’ils se retrouvent sans le savoir "nommés" dans les comités de rédaction de ces revues. En outre, les auteurs peuvent se retrouver pris au piège après avoir réalisé qu'ils ont soumis un article à un journal prédateur. Il existe un risque potentiel que certaines revues ne restituent pas les manuscrits soumis ou publient tout de même un document soumis malgré la contestation de l’auteur.

L’augmentation du nombre des revues scientifiques, y compris les prédatrices12, au cours des 15 dernières années, peut rendre difficile la distinction entre revues prédatrices et pseudo-revues. Cependant, des outils en ligne sont disponibles pour aider les auteurs dans cet effort1,8 et certaines caractéristiques ont été identifiées comme étant typiques des revues prédatrices et de leurs éditeurs :

  • Les éditeurs ou les revues envoient des e-mails sollicitant agressivement les chercheurs.
  • Le nom du journal semble un peu familier, mais il est en fait une imitation du nom d’un journal réputé.
  • Un site web non professionnel, avec des graphismes médiocres, un langage mal formulé, des liens non fonctionnels et une publicité agressive.
  • Aucune adresse ou aucun numéro de téléphone du pays n’est indiqué sur le site web de la revue ou de la maison d’édition, ou de fausses adresses/numéros de téléphone sont fournis.
  • L'absence d'indexation des revues dans un système de citation reconnu tel que PubMed13 ou dans un répertoire en ligne légitime tel que le répertoire des revues en libre accès (the Directory of Open Access Journals, DOAJ)14
  • Promesses d'une évaluation déraisonnablement rapide par les pairs, ou aucune information fournie sur le processus d’évaluation par les pairs du journal.
  • Les frais du traitement de l’article ne sont pas transparents (et peuvent être soit très élevés soit très bas) ou sont payables sur présentation (c'est-à-dire qu’ils ne dépendent pas du résultat de l’évaluation par les experts).
  • Revendication d’une large couverture à travers de multiples spécialités en médecine ou à travers de multiples sous-spécialités dans une discipline particulière.
  • Un grand nombre de revues récemment apparues et/ou des revues contenant peu ou pas d'articles publiés, des revues inaccessibles, ou des revues de mauvaise qualité évidente.
  • Les membres du comité de rédaction sont soit dans une discipline différente soit pas du pays où la revue est publiée, ou les membres du comité de rédaction sont inconnus des auteurs expérimentés dans le domaine.
  • Un système de soumission d’article trop simple avec peu de questions posées et aucune information sur d’éventuels conflits d'intérêts ou sur les qualifications de l’auteur.

Les auteurs ne devraient pas consciemment choisir de soumettre des manuscrits à une revue prédatrice pour augmenter le nombre de leurs publications, comme il a été récemment observé.15,16 La soumission consciente et délibérée des manuscrits à des revues prédatrices n'est pas éthique. Les rédacteurs médicaux et les éditeurs, ainsi que les chercheurs, ont la responsabilité d'évaluer l'intégrité, l'histoire, les pratiques et la réputation des revues auxquelles leurs recherches sont soumises.8Nous encourageons tous les auteurs à dûment évaluer la réputation des revues auxquelles ils soumettent leurs travaux, et de n’envoyer leurs travaux qu'aux revues qui fournissent un examen par des experts appropriés et qui cherchent véritablement à contribuer à la littérature scientifique.

La communauté scientifique doit être pleinement consciente du mal que pose la publication dans les revues prédatrices et comprendre comment l'éviter. L'AMWA, l'EMWA et l’ISMPP se sont engagés à éduquer leurs membres sur l'édition prédatrice et les responsabilités des rédacteurs médicaux et des professionnels de la publication dans la résolution de cette question importante.

Références :

  1. Laine C, Winker MA. Identifying Predatory or Pseudo-Journals. World Association of Medical Editors. February 18, 2017. http://www.wame.org/identifying-predatory-or-pseudo-journals. Accessed June 18, 2019.
  2. Cabell’s Blacklist Violations. http://www2.cabells.com/blacklist-criteria. Accessed June 18, 2019.
  3. Cobey KD, Lalu MM, Skidmore B, Ahmadzai N, Grudniewicz A, Moher D. What is a predatory journal? A scoping review. Version 2. F1000Res. 2018;7:1001. DOI: 10.12688/f1000research.15256.2.
  4. Beall J. Predatory publishers are corrupting open access. Nature. 2012;489:179. DOI: 10.1038/489179a.
  5. Beall’s List of Predatory Publishers. http://openscience.ens.fr/ABOUT_OPEN_ACCESS/BLOGS/2017_01_23_Jeffrey_Beall_last_list_of_predatory_journals.pdf. Accessed June 18, 2019.
  6. Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association – Code of Conduct. https://oaspa.org/membership/code-of-conduct. Accessed June 18, 2019.
  7. International Committee of Medical Journal Editors. “Fake,” “Predatory,” and “Pseudo” Journals: Charlatans Threatening Trust in Science. http://www.icmje.org/news-and-editorials/fake_predatory_pseudo_journals_dec17.html. Accessed June 18, 2019.
  8. International Committee of Medical Journal Editors. Responsibilities in the Submission and Peer-Review Process. http://www.icmje.org/recommendations/browse/roles-and-responsibilities/responsibilities-in-the-submission-and-peer-peview-process.html. Accessed June 18, 2019.
  9. Council of Science Editors. Predatory or Deceptive Publishers – Recommendations for Caution. https://www.councilscienceeditors.org/resource-library/editorial-policies/cse-policies/approved-by-the-cse-board-of-directors/predatory-deceptive-publishers-recommendations-caution. Accessed June 18, 2019.
  10. Berger M. Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Predatory Publishing but Were Afraid to Ask. http://www.ala.org/acrl/sites/ala.org.acrl/files/content/conferences/confsandpreconfs/2017/EverythingYouEverWantedtoKnowAboutPredatoryPublishing.pdf. Accessed June 18, 2019.
  11. Mizera K. What is Gold Open Access – useful links. https://openscience.com/what-is-gold-open-access/. Accessed June 18, 2019.
  12. Shen C, Bjork BC. 'Predatory' open access: a longitudinal study of article volumes and market characteristics. BMC Med. 2015;13:230. DOI: 10.1186/s12916-015-0469-2.
  13. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed. Accessed June 18, 2019.
  14. Directory of Open Access Journals. https://doaj.org/. Accessed June 18, 2019.
  15. Moher D, Shamseer L, Cobey KD, et al. Stop this waste of people, animals and money. Nature 2017;549:23-25. DOI: 10.1038/549023a.
  16. Sharma H, Verma S. Predatory journals: the rise of worthless biomedical science. J Postgrad Med 2018;64:226-31. DOI: 10.4103/jpgm.JPGM_347_18.

Remerciements

Cette déclaration de position commune a été examinée et approuvée par des représentants de l'AMWA, de l'EMWA et de l'ISMPP. La préparation de cette déclaration a été possible grâce aux efforts des membres du comité de rédaction (Barbara Good et Mary Kemper, AMWA; Slavka Baronikova et Julia Donnelly, EMWA; Jan Seal-Roberts et Donna Simcoe, ISMPP), et les évaluateurs des organisations (Shari Rager, AMWA; Tiziana von Bruchhausen et Beatrix Doerr, EMWA; Anna Geraci et Al Weigel, ISMPP).

Upcoming Conference

Cascais Save the Date

The 52nd EMWA conference will take place on 4 - 6 November 2021 at the Hotel Cascais Miragem.

AMWA – EMWA – ISMPP Joint Position Statement on Predatory Publishing

Released July 2019

The American Medical Writers Association (AMWA), the European Medical Writers Association (EMWA), and the International Society for Medical Publication Professionals (ISMPP) recognize the challenges to scientific publishing being posed by predatory journals and their publishers, which employ practices undermining the quality, integrity, and reliability of published scientific research. This joint position statement complements several other sets of guidelines that have helped define the characteristics of a predatory journal.1-5

Predatory journals pose a serious threat both to researchers publishing the results of their work and to the peer-reviewed medical literature itself. These publications differ from legitimate open-access journals6 in that predatory journals subvert the peer-review publication system for the sole purpose of financial gain with little evident concern for ethical behavior.7

Organizations such as the World Association of Medical Editors (WAME), the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE), the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE), and the Council of Science Editors (CSE) support good publication practices that are now widely recognized.6,8-10 Predatory journals do not adhere to these practices but instead exploit the Gold Open Access publishing model (for which authors pay a publication fee).11 To generate revenue, these journals intentionally misrepresent practices of editorial and peer review, methods of journal operation, article process charging, dissemination, indexing, and archiving.1

Harm to the scientific literature will be the ultimate result if predatory publishing proliferates. Legitimate research carried out with the best of intentions might be lost if it is not recorded, cited, or made accessible in the long term, and the scientific record is at risk of being corrupted.1 But dangers to authors also exist in that their reputations can be damaged as a result of having their work published in predatory journals or being unknowingly “appointed” to their editorial boards. Furthermore, authors may find themselves trapped after they realize they have submitted an article to a predatory journal. There is a potential risk that some journals might not return submitted manuscripts or will publish a submitted paper even after an author has protested. 

The large increase in scientific journals, including those that are predatory,12 over the past 15 years can make the task of distinguishing predatory or “pseudo” journals difficult. However, online tools are available to help authors in this effort,1,8 and certain characteristics have been identified as being typical of predatory journals and their publishers:

  • publishers or journals sending emails that aggressively solicit researchers
  • a journal name that sounds somewhat familiar—but is actually a devious permutation of a legitimate journal name
  • a website that appears unprofessional, with poor graphics, misused language, dead links, and aggressive advertising
  • no street address or in-country telephone number noted on the journal or publisher’s website, or a fake address/phone number provided
  • a lack of journal indexing in a recognized citation system such as PubMed13 or within a legitimate online directory such as the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)14
  • promises of unrealistically quick peer review, or no information provided about a journal’s peer-review process
  • article processing charges that are not transparent (and may be either very high or very low) or are payable on submission (that is, not dependent on the outcome of peer review)
  • claims made of broad coverage across multiple specialties in medicine or across multiple subspecialties in a particular discipline
  • a large stable of journals that have been started very recently and/or that contain no or few published articles, are inaccessible, or are of obviously poor quality
  • an editorial board consisting of members from outside the specialty or outside the country in which the journal is published, or board members who are unknown to someone experienced in publishing in the field
  • a submission system that is overly simple with few questions asked and no conflict-of-interest or authorship qualification information requested.

Authors should not purposely choose to submit manuscripts to predatory journals to augment their own record of publication, as has been seen more recently.15,16 The conscious and deliberate submission of manuscripts to predatory journals is not ethical. Medical writers and editors, as well as researchers, have a responsibility to evaluate the integrity, history, practices, and reputation of the journals to which their research is submitted.8 We encourage all authors to carry out due diligence by examining the reputation of the publications to which they submit, and send their work only to those journals that provide proper peer review and that genuinely seek to contribute to the scientific literature.

The scientific community must be made fully aware of the harm that publishing in predatory journals poses and understand how to avoid it. AMWA, EMWA, and ISMPP are committed to educating our members about predatory publishing and the responsibilities of medical writers and publication professionals in addressing this significant issue.

References:

  1. Laine C, Winker MA. Identifying Predatory or Pseudo-Journals. World Association of Medical Editors. February 18, 2017. http://www.wame.org/identifying-predatory-or-pseudo-journals. Accessed June 18, 2019.
  2. Cabell’s Blacklist Violations. http://www2.cabells.com/blacklist-criteria. Accessed June 18, 2019.
  3. Cobey KD, Lalu MM, Skidmore B, Ahmadzai N, Grudniewicz A, Moher D. What is a predatory journal? A scoping review. Version 2. F1000Res. 2018;7:1001. DOI: 10.12688/f1000research.15256.2.
  4. Beall J. Predatory publishers are corrupting open access. Nature. 2012;489:179. DOI: 10.1038/489179a.
  5. Beall’s List of Predatory Publishers. http://openscience.ens.fr/ABOUT_OPEN_ACCESS/BLOGS/2017_01_23_Jeffrey_Beall_last_list_of_predatory_journals.pdf. Accessed June 18, 2019.
  6. Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association – Code of Conduct. https://oaspa.org/membership/code-of-conduct. Accessed June 18, 2019.
  7. International Committee of Medical Journal Editors. “Fake,” “Predatory,” and “Pseudo” Journals: Charlatans Threatening Trust in Science. http://www.icmje.org/news-and-editorials/fake_predatory_pseudo_journals_dec17.html. Accessed June 18, 2019.
  8. International Committee of Medical Journal Editors. Responsibilities in the Submission and Peer-Review Process. http://www.icmje.org/recommendations/browse/roles-and-responsibilities/responsibilities-in-the-submission-and-peer-peview-process.html. Accessed June 18, 2019.
  9. Council of Science Editors. Predatory or Deceptive Publishers – Recommendations for Caution. https://www.councilscienceeditors.org/resource-library/editorial-policies/cse-policies/approved-by-the-cse-board-of-directors/predatory-deceptive-publishers-recommendations-caution. Accessed June 18, 2019.
  10. Berger M. Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Predatory Publishing but Were Afraid to Ask. http://www.ala.org/acrl/sites/ala.org.acrl/files/content/conferences/confsandpreconfs/2017/EverythingYouEverWantedtoKnowAboutPredatoryPublishing.pdf. Accessed June 18, 2019.
  11. Mizera K. What is Gold Open Access – useful links. https://openscience.com/what-is-gold-open-access/. Accessed June 18, 2019.
  12. Shen C, Bjork BC. 'Predatory' open access: a longitudinal study of article volumes and market characteristics. BMC Med. 2015;13:230. DOI: 10.1186/s12916-015-0469-2.
  13. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed. Accessed June 18, 2019.
  14. Directory of Open Access Journals. https://doaj.org/. Accessed June 18, 2019.
  15. Moher D, Shamseer L, Cobey KD, et al. Stop this waste of people, animals and money. Nature 2017;549:23-25. DOI: 10.1038/549023a.
  16. Sharma H, Verma S. Predatory journals: the rise of worthless biomedical science. J Postgrad Med 2018;64:226-31. DOI: 10.4103/jpgm.JPGM_347_18.

Acknowledgements

This joint position statement was reviewed and approved by representatives of AMWA, EMWA, and ISMPP. Preparation of this statement was possible thanks to the efforts of the members of the Writing Committee (Barbara Good and Mary Kemper, AMWA; Slavka Baronikova and Julia Donnelly, EMWA; Jan Seal-Roberts and Donna Simcoe, ISMPP), and the organizational reviewers (Shari Rager, AMWA; Tiziana von Bruchhausen and Beatrix Doerr, EMWA; Anna Geraci and Al Weigel, ISMPP).

Reference: American Medical Writers Association, European Medical Writers Association & International Society for Medical Publication Professionals (2019) AMWA–EMWA–ISMPP joint position statement on predatory publishing, Current Medical Research and Opinion, DOI: 10.1080/03007995.2019.1646535